Leave a comment

Lenny’s Mormon Profile

About Me
My story begins in 1951 in southern California at San Gabriel where I was born. I lived there until 1957 when my family moved to southern Oregon, then Portland, Oregon. At that time my parents planned to become missionaries for The Church of Christ, and we all went to Brazil in 1967, by ship, the “Argentina Maru”. I lived in Belo Horizonte and Sao Paulo before returning to the USA in 1970 and lived there until 1976 when the Army sent me to Germany. I have lived for weeks at a time and a month once in the outdoors. I love the study and use of primitive skills, like fire by friction, making and using atlatal, sling and bow. I have always liked people and listen to them, trying to be a helper and problem solver.
I entered the Army in 1974, I asked to go anywhere but California, having learned to appreciate travel. After basic training at Fort Polk, Louisiana and Fort Sam Houston, Texas for advanced individual training in field medicine, I ended up back in California at Fort Ord a beautiful place near Monterey. It was there I met Philip R. and The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. With only 15 months left to serve, orders came for Germany. Soon after arriving at Baumholder Germany, I met Nancy. Lenny and Nancy were married in the Temple at Mesa, Arizona in 1977 just 3 months before discharge. Lenny, Nancy, and their 4 children currently live in Mesa. I commuted by bicycle from 1973 to 2004 and love the outdoors.
Why I’m a Mormon
I collected a few addictions along the way to becoming an adult. I was in need of repentance by age 18 but knew I needed more than what the church I grew up in offered after being re-baptized a few times. I actually joined the Army New Years eve 1974 in hopes of beating my addictions. I was not safe in the Army but did find some great people there. I became a flight medic in the MAST program (Military Assistance to Safety and Traffic) and met Philip a helicopter pilot and a Seventy in the Church Of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He took a great interest in me and loved me into the Church. He shared his family with me and the Missionaries just happened to be there most times.
When baptised I was blessed with an assignment far from most people I knew where I could practice my new religion and not my old habits. I know that people need some good behavior to replace a bad one and The Lord gave me this opportunity to separate myself. The Lord also sent my wife to be over to Germany to visit family where I met her. I was amazed that this returned Missionary and college graduate was there just for me, but I was convinced of it.
I felt God’s hand in my life often. My parents were those goodly parents I read about in the first chapter of l Nephi. I had many opportunities to learn and grow as a youth. I learned to build my ideas. I loved cars, model cars and started building slot cars that were fast and fun to race. While in Brasil I built one that won a National race for the Belo Horizonte team. A few years later while living on my own in San Fernando Valley, I answered an ad to make craft items and sell them at Magic Mountain in Valencia. Leonardo de Leather was a fun summer making and selling lots of leather goods. That summer was the year I started commuting by bicycle and taking a greater interest in my body and mind. The spirit naturally followed, especially when disappointments and poor relationships made me sad. followed, especially when disappointments and poor relationships made me sad.
How I Live My Faith
I help our Bishop out by making appointments for him and keeping some notes for him. I like to be his helper. I am one who will volunteer to clean the Ward building and sing a solo on a Sunday. I have cleaned the building much more than solo singing. My days to help move people in and out have passed with age and a back problem or two. I try to eat good foods and in moderation. I am working on losing weight and regaining strength and flexibility so I can more freely help others.
I am turning 60 this year and find I still love to do and make and learn. A few years ago I was able to study voice, using speech level singing. I am pleased with the improvements in my singing as well as general music knowledge. I make flutes of various ancient design and am getting ready to make some kalimbas and karimbas. I built myself a website using HTML language in 1999 or so. http://lennyharp.com and http://lennyh.com are two of my current projects online.
I like Facebook and share Gospel, political and somewhat personal topics there. I think that we do not have any secrets for long these days so try to repent and change as I find the need. I also want to encourage all others to find this kind of happiness thus the sharing. I try to remember others feelings and be courteous but also need honesty and want to share my honest ideas and thoughts. We are busy these days so my postings are infrequent and sometimes not too well thought out and put together.
Elder M. Russell Ballard of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints spoke to graduates at the 15 December 2007 commencement ceremony at Brigham Young University/Hawaii. He encouraged proper use of the Internet and sharing of testimonies as important for members. I took this council to heart as did I this quote from Ezra Taft Benson, “Truth must be repeated again and again because error is constantly being preached round about us.” I stand for and by God and his Laws.

Lenny HendersonEzra Taft Benson in “Our Duty as Citizens” “…because character is the one thing we make in this world and take with us into the next. It must never be sacrificed for expediency.”

Leave a Reply

