Leave a comment

Goal Setting

“I am so thoroughly convinced that if we don’t set goals in our life and learn how to master the techniques of living to reach our goals, we can reach a ripe old age and look back on our life only to see that we reached but a small part of our full potential. When one learns to master the principles of setting a goal, he will then be able to make a great difference in the results he attains in this life.”
TALK GIVEN TO SALT LAKE AREA YOUNG ADULTS, OCT. 18, 1981
Elder M. Russell Ballard

“I believe in goals, but I believe that the individual should set his own.
President Spencer W. Kimball

“I gave unto (man) to be an agent unto himself” Doctrine and Covenants 29:35

Smart Goals

S Specific

M Measurable

A Attainable

R Realistic

T Time Bound

The proceeding collection of thoughts on Goalsetting were presented to our Ward by Benjamin Webster, one of a family of great teachers. I am indebted to others in my life of collecting and internalizing certain life changing concepts. This is one of those times when I benefit from the work of others.

The Church asked us to set goals, The Stake asked the Wards to further this and our Ward Bishop asked Ben to prepare and motivate the Ward members to become more goal oriented. If this is not God helping man to help himself, I have not really lived this life of discovery. Since I know I have discovered many certainties I am most certain of God and his love and planning for me to succeed. God Loves Man and has given him the Gospel and Church to assist in the acomplishment of returning to Him.

Leave a Reply

