Leave a comment

My Country! ‘tis of Thee

During the early part of the 18th century, Samuel F. Smith wrote his great poem:

My country! ‘tis of thee,
Sweet land of liberty,
Of thee I sing;
Land where my fathers died,
Land of the pilgrim’s pride,
From every mountain side,
Let freedom ring!

My native country, thee,
Land of the noble, free,
Thy name I love;
I love thy rocks and rills,
Thy woods and templed hills.
My heart with rapture thrills
Like that above.

Let music swell the breeze
And ring from all the trees,
Sweet freedom’s song;
Let mortal tongues awake;
Let all that breathe partake;
Let rocks their silence break,
The sound prolong.

Our fathers’ God to thee,
Author of liberty,
To thee we sing.
Long may our land be bright
With freedom’s holy light.
Protect us by thy might,
Great God, our King!
(Hymns, no. 115.)

God Grant me the courage to stand for right and good. America as a land of service, compassion and strength, comitted to gospel principles to further Thy purposes, will stand firm. I love this life because I know of service from Thee and because of Jesus Christ’s service, sacrifice and example. This poem inspires in me the will to serve the Lord and His chosen country, America. I served in military and as security officer and know of the promised protections of God in and for America.

Leave a Reply

