Leave a comment

Memorial Day 2010 Thoughts of Memorium

“Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe to assure the survival and the success of liberty.”

John F. Kennedy

“The family is not just the basic unit of society; it is the basic unit of eternity.”

M. Russell Ballard, Ensign, Mar 2006, 26–33

During the summer of 1977 I visited Utah Beach, l’Avranches and other locations visited by General Patton during the time resistance was cleared out of western Europe after D-Day. I saw many people thankful to me for work men of my father’s generation did in liberating them from German occupation. I gained much respect for valiant soldiers in seeing the 10’s of thousands of graves of Americans in Europe. They had sacrificed for a people who they only knew needed help.

Fortunately I missed active fighting in Vietnam when I enlisted in 1974. I viewed these moving and emotional sights in Europe to know somewhat of the terrors and justices that may come out of war. The Lord specifies that there is a time of peace and of war, so I must assume that those thankful to me were actually thankful to God for their better life in the 1970’s as compared to the 1940’s. That Man has so often forgotten the lessons learned in war, is tragic. I cry for the day our Savior comes and brings peace to those who will follow the narrow and straight path to peace. I pray for the brotherhood of man and the Christlike love in supporting Liberty for all. I pray I learn to better live this life of giving, sharing and not just taking. Many have followed the example of self sacrifice set by the Savior.

Leave a Reply

