Leave a comment

29er vs 24" Cruiser


I rode this 24″ wheeled custom cruiser I built in a race back in 1990 up in Flagstaff. My 8 year son Sam, raced a 20 inch 12 speed bmx bike I customized for him in the same race as the single speed Iron Man class as there were no other racers under 12 or 13 years old. He did great and I quit racing a third of the way thru to go back and ride with him to the end. I always remember this race fondly as a great father/son experience. Another race saw Brian race this in a race to 6th or 7th place over all against all classes; this after an early morning training ride of 50 miles on fixed gear with Dominic’s Team Strada. I still think fixed gear training is the ultimate tool for excellence in pedalling form and fitness.

Leave a Reply

