Leave a comment

Excuses and Independent Thinking

Obama Knocking GOP and any opposition.

“I expect to be held responsible for these issues because I’m the president,” he said. “But I don’t want the folks who created the mess doing a lot of talking. I want them to just get out of the way so we can clean up the mess.”

Preaching to the choir at a rally for Democratic gubernatorial candidate Creigh Deeds, he repeated: “I don’t mind cleaning up after them, but don’t do a lot of talking. Am I wrong, Virginia?”

Obama tied his discussion of fiscal policy to the “prudent” example of Democratic governors Mark Warner and Tim Kaine, saying Deeds would continue that.

“When I walked in, we had a $1.3 trillion deficit,” Obama said within hours of the CBO announcing that the deficit had, in fact, reached $1.3 trillion. He claimed, actually, that “without my policies, we’d have an even higher deficit going forward,” though he excepted the stimulus bill which he said “we had to do in order to get this economy moving again.”

“You can’t go out there and charge up the credit card, go on … shopping sprees that didn’t grow the economy, hand over the bill to us and say why haven’t you paid it off yet. I got that bill from you!” he said.

Leave a Reply

