Leave a comment

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Lenny’s Conference Thoughts

I remember some 10 to 15 years ago listening to several brilliant scripture quoting and provocative advocates of progress in this life and understanding of the gospel. These men gave day long seminars and sold books that seemed to help us to understand our place in the fight for freedom and a return to Heavenly Father. After a time that their lectures were interrupted, I was shocked to find that dis fellowship and excommunication were part of their then current Church status.

I remember discussing with my wife about how important were their teachings compared to our membership in the Church and the ability to attend the Temple worthily. We decided that we would rather be Temple worthy and not followers of self proclaimed leaders in the gospel understanding of this world. We felt a peace in following the Church and our leaders called of God thru the Priesthood leaders of the True Church.

I am blessed with a reasonable intelligence and more than reasonable amount of pride. I seemed to pass tests easily in all subjects and still consider myself a 10 percenter in achievements of intellect. In other words I am usually about at the top 90 percentile of knowledge in areas that I apply myself to. I have learned that a more simple intellect can be much more an expert than I by sheer dedication, study, work and application of knowledge. I have become a product of my interests, studies, service and application of knowledge. My blog is partly to share my perspectives and interests and to develop my spirituality and usefulness as a Latter-Day Saint. My posts here are to share what I feel fits into this forum and hopefully to encourage a more knowledgeable and spiritual perspective for me and any who want to read and enter a discussion of any topic I may choose to be a part of.

I have also learned that I can be way below my potentials because of disobedience and other lacks of character that cause me a constant need for repentance. If I am causing you or any person reading this or any post I make to be in danger of apostasy to the True Gospel and True leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints or even partial understanding of gospel principles I would do better to not post. My intent is not to guide any astray from gospel but to follow the leaders, I quote in a small portion of their teachings to strengthen my points of view, that we may all be better learned, studied and prepared for the prophesied troubles coming.

Yesterday in Priesthood Session of Conference I was struck with my need for courage and understanding when President Eyring spoke of those things in living in these times as God would have me (I must personalize any conference talk) to do. He spoke in moving terms and with his usual spiritual passion that inspired me to continue on and to serve the Lord as best I can. Temple attendance is a part of that plan and I am thankful that I have that refuge and need to take advantage of it this very week. I heard many advices that will help me to be more prepared to be a true Patriot and Christian and pray I will never leave their precious counsels to aggrandize my self and to fall to the Satanic stirrer of contentions, he who was thrown out of Heaven with many millions of helpers to take me down. I know from my failures that Satan and his minions are real and that I will take counsels given to strengthen myself against following them and to stay close to God and his followers by holding fast to the Iron Rod.

During June of 1977 I took part in a reinactment, called Paddy’s March, of the D-Day mop up actions that included a march including 350 miles of the battlefields in France, Belgium, Germany and Luxembourg during 4 weeks of summer 1977. Many places still carried the scars, bunkers and graves of those battle preparations and hard fought campaings. I gained a testimony of suffering needed just to cover the paths of the freedom fight of WWll in those areas. I shurnk from a marathon running weight of 170 lbs to an aenimic 155 lbs in one month of overuse of my body and its resources. I saw people in the countryside who still loved me for the sacrifice of many Americans I may never know, who had helped them to break free from the Nazi Tyrants who had moved into their homeland during the years proceeding the D-Day Invasion.

I will always love Ezra Taft Benson for his suffering for those people he served in Europe in 1946 as President of the European Mission of the Church. Because of his great love for the many who survived the hell of war and some now looked forward to a new Communist Tyrants that would rob them for years to come. President Benson would loose more proportion of his weight to sacrifice for those he served than I did during my march in 1977. He developed his love for God, His people and His Laws and the US Constitution during that time of sacrifice and service to help rebuild a war torn Europe. Many wanted to teach the Germans and their helpers a lesson. God and his Messengers wanted to help them repent, rebuild and change to a free Europe. There was some sucess for the Lord and Ezra Taft Benson, His main advocate in Europe at that time.

There will need to be more sacrifice to regain freedoms all over this world since many have been gained and then lost since that time. I am relatively sure my place is here and now. I love to write and to study and research these topics and the ease of doing so in this computer age is marvelous. Here is a quote I must type from an old book not popular enough to be on the net in my searches, but a major treasure for me.

“With the terrible ravages of war on every side – the result of man’s sinful disobedience of the commandments of the Lord – and man’s wicked misuse ofthe bounties of nature – one is made to exclaim: ‘O, God, how long Will thy children continue their inhuman slaughter of their fellowmen? How long will the leaders of nations pursue the futile destruction of war? When will the suffering of little children, old men and women, and innocent people everywhere cease and they be called upon no more to endure the ravages of fiends in human form? When will men and nations learn the way of peace and the futility of bloody conflict?'”

“Admidst the terrible aftermath of war, the conflict with the Saints in all the war-torn countries has been a sad, thought inspiring, experience. Here we have witnessed the fruits of the restored gospel in the lives of our members. We have not been disappointed.” Ezra Taft Benson, “A Labor of Love”, 1989, Appendix B: “Farewell-God Bless You!”

I think to best follow God and hold fast to the Rod of Iron is to be hot in desire and advocacy of following the Prophets of God. I must not be lukewarm and waffling in my doing my duties. One of the continuing admonissions of the Prophets is to learn from history. A most important part of history is the founding of America and the bravery and sacrifice that were needed to establish Liberty and soon to establish the true Church in this great continent of America.

“This is the way it’s supposed to work. This is God’s plan: father and mother, grandfather and grandmother, teaching their children, children learning from them and becoming a more righteous generation through their own personal experiences and opportunities. Learning the lessons of the past allows you to build personal testimony on the solid bedrock of obedience, faith and the witness of the spirit.” Elder M Russel Ballard, 179th Annual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

President McKay has issued a call to the Saints to sacrifice on behalf of their religious, political, and economic freedoms which are threatened by welfare state practices. Consider his words carefully:

“No greater immediate responsibility rests upon members of the Church, upon all citizens of this Republic and of neighboring Republics, than to protect the freedom vouchsafed by the Constitution of the United States.
Let us, by exercising our privileges under the Constitution—
(1) Preserve our right to worship God according to the dictates of our conscience.
(2) Preserve the right to work when and where we choose. No free man should be compelled to pay tribute in order to realize this God-given privilege.”

“Read in the Doctrine and Covenants this statement:
…it is not right that any man should be in bondage one to another. (D&C 101:79)”

“(3) Feel free to plant and to reap without the handicap of bureaucratic interference.
(4) Devote our time, means, and life if necessary, to hold inviolate those laws which will secure to each individual the free exercise of conscience, the right and control of property, and the protection of life.” David O. McKay, “Statements on Communism and the Constitution of the United States”, 1966, pp. 11-12

Leave a Reply

