Leave a comment

Family

I just had a few of my family, 4 generations, all together yesterday. I felt happy and my wife said I looked very happy. I am really blessed to have so many riches in family love and support. God commanded Adam and Eve to multiply and replenish the earth.

I have a testimony that this is the driving force in my happiness and living today. I was addicted to drugs, alcohol and more, and in a relationship I foolishly hoped would give me the family I wanted, I even craved. When I realized that not only would my relationship not happen but an abortion would happen, I wanted to die and only knew to pray and look for stronger and more destructive drugs. Fortunately for me and my posterity, God answered my prayers in ways that saved my life, led me to baptism in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and ultimately led me to my soon to be wife.

I know that all of my children are precious and make me happy. I know my Mom loves all of her children and we make her happy. I know that God promises this as early in scriptures as Genesis in his commandment to Adam and Eve. Book of Mormon scripture clarifies the purpose of Obedience to God’s Laws.

Mosiah 2:41 “And moreover, I would desire that ye should consider on the blessed and happy state of those that keep the commandments of God. For behold, they are blessed in all things, both temporal and spiritual; and if they hold out faithful to the end they are received into heaven, that thereby they may dwell with God in a state of never-ending happiness. O remember, remember that these things are true; for the Lord God hath spoken it.”

Just as in 1976 abortion was abhorrent to my spirit, so it is today. I received a call today asking for donations to a national lobbying Pro Life organization. I generally defer to my 10-11 percent of income donations to Church as enough and my share. Life expenses, taxes and wants certainly take up all I make beyond my Tithe. I knew I must donate what I can to this most worthy cause and be involved in helping the most vulnerable who just want to come to earth to be part of a family. I also know that God has given commandments to all of society in the world to use the gift of procreation only to a marriage partner, a husband or wife. If all men and women followed this one commandment there would not be any purpose for the satanic practice of killing babies.

God condemned the Israelites for making idols and naked worship in the style learned from their recent masters the Egyptians. I only recently realized that God was concerned about the children sacrificed in the ceremonies that included orgies of nakedness and what would obviously follow a drunken and naked dance. I had always assumed He was mad about the idols and worshiping them, but now realize it was so much more. This makes our culture of today advocating homosexual marriages, abortions and general immorality where even our Presidents are known to be immoral and unfaithful family men, can only bring about similar calls to repentance.

I must say that Conversion to Gospel Principles is an ongoing process. As I learn more and evil becomes more apparent I know that the stakes are very high that I and my family support Our God, Your God, The God of all mankind. I am committed to that task and pray for wisdom and courage to live my life with that as my primary goal. I am happiest when I am serving God and helping my family to also follow His Great Plan of Salvation.

Leave a Reply

