1 Comment

My Need to Become Ready for the Lord

“As bearers of the priesthood, we have been placed on earth in troubled times. We live in a complex world with currents of conflict everywhere to be found. Political machinations ruin the stability of nations, despots grasp for power, and segments of society seem forever downtrodden, deprived of opportunity, and left with a feeling of failure.”

“We who have been ordained to the priesthood of God can make a difference. When we qualify for the help of the Lord, we can build boys, we can mend men, we can accomplish miracles in His holy service. Our opportunities are without limit.”

“Ours is the task to be fitting examples. We are strengthened by the truth that the greatest force in the world today is the power of God as it works through man. If we are on the Lord’s errand, brethren, we are entitled to the Lord’s help. Never forget that truth. That divine help, of course, is predicated upon our worthiness. Each must ask: Are my hands clean? Is my heart pure? Am I a worthy servant of the Lord?” [President Thomas S. Monson; General Conference, April 2008.]

I am feeling a need to change my ways, repent of my sins and shortcomings and become ready to help the work go forward here on earth. I attended a “Making of America” seminar yesterday and realize that this feeling I have been feeling for some time and have been responding to is because the healing America needs to do is not financial or political but spiritual. Since it is not possible to be free without being good, we all need to be good for freedom to return to America and ultimately to the World. That is the way the Founding Fathers saw Manifest Destiny and Freedom; as belonging to all of mankind and spreading from America to the World, from a good and moral people.

Many in power around the World want a New World Order. This NWO that is sponsored by United Nations is not one of God and to His glory, giving freedom to all men. The one that is truly grand and worth sacrificing for is the one Jesus Christ talked about more than 2000 years ago in Israel. A free man is not fettered with the shackles of tyranny, that all governments use in this World today. A free man is not told every facet of life, what is acceptable and politically correct; but given principles to follow and the ability to choose whether he will follow them.

We have been given instructions and have forgotten them. The Founding Fathers wrote many volumes of records explaining what God had given them but those teachings and writings are ignored. Conspirators to destroy freedom substitute teachings that are counterfeit and pleasing to hear. God has blessed me so it is my duty to study and ask and discover what He wants me to do. If I decide not to do his will I can follow that path but it leads to snares and loss of freedom. Happiness follows the choice to obey, serve, be worthy and be free.

One comment on “My Need to Become Ready for the Lord

  1. We all promised to do some thing on coming to earth, is a belief I cherish. I am just now at 57 learning about my true work here. I am sure we all have important work to do and the Lord is patient with us as we hopefully progress towards that work. Many do get totally lost to the snares that are all around us. I pray often to stay close to the iron rod to not get off track again. We can waste too many chances to get much done, in this life. Unity is a very important concept I studied last week. I realized that some blessings of the Family and Church are not available to an individual person but we need to unite with others to gain some blessings. I have often wanted to do my own thing and love to be alone in the wilderness. I am now seeing, and have for some time begun to see my work is relating to others and as a part of society. I really only see a part, at any time of my work, but feel a direction more now than ever. I have almost always felt that Heavenly Father is not far from me and prayer is key to my connection.

Leave a Reply

