Leave a comment

Hope

Two weeks ago I studied obedience and continued with agency, commitment, duty and some other relative topics from the BOM Topic Guide. Today I opened the scriptures and thought I would persue Hope as it is a topic relating to obedience, duty and more. Faith, hope and charity are tied together and require service to prove their full application into one’s life. Well since this relates to my current needs I will study it for a while. Hope is a big part of what America lacks and would go a long way to helping us to see more clearly what we could do for ourselves.

Moroni 7:40 “And again, my beloved brethren, I would speak unto you concerning hope. How is it that ye can attain unto faith, save ye shall have hope?”

I have some problems that keep me from having hope and acting in faith. I can suffer personal arrogance from my successes and strengths. Some times uncertainy from indecision of not knowing how to act or respond to a situation. Othertimes shame from mistakes made is a paralizer that keeps me from having hope. The scriptures as always provides answers to problems and here is one that fits all these situations.

Moroni 7:43 “And again, behold I say unto you that he cannot have faith and hope, save he shall be meek, and lowly of heart.”

Now to obtain meekness the gospel soon shows the way. Heavenly Father does not leave us adrift in troubled times. He may allow trouble to overtake us just like one of his most faithful Job of Old Testament times. This trouble may be more deserving of most of us in that our pride brings about a fall. If we fall and stand to lose all there again is provided a solution that also works for anybody.

Moroni 8:26 “And the remission of sins bringeth meekness, and lowliness of heart; and because of meekness and lowliness of heart cometh the visitation of the Holy Ghost, which Comforter filleth with hope and perfect love, which love endureth by diligence unto prayer, until the end shall come, when all the saints shall dwell with God.”

Leave a Reply

