Leave a comment

My blogs reason to exist.

Elder M. Russell Ballard of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints spoke to graduates at the 15 December 2007 commencement ceremony at Brigham Young University/Hawaii.

“The final address to the graduates was given by Elder Ballard, entitled Using “New Media” to Support the Work of the Church. The majority of his talk was devoted to encouraging members, and especially the new graduates, to use the recent technological advances for the good of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He also proved how, contrary to the beliefs of some, the age of the prophets, apostles and other leaders of the church do not make them incapable of leading the church. He himself was given an iPod by his grandchildren last Christmas, and he specifically mentioned Facebook, blogs and E-mail as increasingly popular methods of communication. “Make sure,” he warned, “that the choices you make in the use of new media are choices that expand your mind, increase your opportunities, and feed your soul.””

This speech inspired me to start a blog to use as a jornal and follow a Prophet’s councel. I will add new writings as I find them or write them. My schedule is such that I may not visit here daily but will as I can. Our family uses Potts Place set up by Aunt Karen to share family photos and info, and I have used bulletin boards, PaleoPlanet and MotorBicycling are current favorites, to post my interests for a few years now. I am reminded by some about the value of a personal journal, Joe you are my inspiration in this among many areas. This is a way to incorporate all I desire into my own personal blog for anybody who wants to visit.

Leave a Reply

